Inventure Academy named Best Delegation at WE Model United Nations (WEMUN) China Expo 2018

Added On : 07-Aug-2018

Breaking all records, Bangalore based Inventure Academy swept the top awards at the WE Model United Nations (WEMUN) China Expo 2018 hosted from August 2 to 8, 2018 for high school students. As the largest permanent Model UN conference in Asia, WEMUN plays host to delegates from 30 different countries. A total of around 900 delegates participated in WEMUN 2018 hosted in Beijing.

Team Inventure bagged 10 out of 12 awards including the most coveted WEMUN award for Best Delegation (#1 team overall), ousting reigning champions the All American Team (who have been champions since 2012).

Individual awards for Inventure Academy included:

● 5 Best Delegate awards: Kaavya Mundkur (Grade 9), Dhruv Iyengar (Grade 9), Kiara

Jacob (Grade 9), Arya Murthy (Grade 10) Vaania Kapoor (Grade 11)

● Best Position Paper: Anirudh Mody (Grade 10)

● 4 Honourable Mention awards: Anjali Agarwal (Grade 12), Manas Singh Bhati (Grade 9),

Raghav Chari (Grade 9), Yash Visal (Grade 9)

Commenting on the phenomenal achievement, Nooraine Fazal, founding CEO & managing trustee, Inventure Academy said, “In a world which is increasingly voting for autocratic leaders, “strong men”, and getting polarised, it is important for children to learn how true democracy works and the benefit of global institutions such as the United Nations. It is critical for our children to learn the power of collaborating effectively with other leaders and nations to find solutions for the many problems that we face as humanity. In addition, China is now well on its way to establishing itself as a super power, perhaps even displacing the US hegemony. It is therefore good for our students to get exposure to China and establish friendships with Chinese students.”

Inventure Academy has been participating in WEMUN for the last three years. A 20 strong contingent participated in WEMUN 2016 and won the Outstanding Delegation Award (overall runners up team), besides bagging 15 individual awards. A team of 8 Inventure delegates won four awards at WEMUN 2017.

Comments Zabil Noor, senior school science lead and WEMUN team advisor, “Inventure students believe that “they matter” and it is upto them to bring about the change that they want to see in the world. It is this innate belief, team spirit and hard work that led them to the excellence they aimed for at WEMUN Expo 2018.”

Arya Murthy of grade 10, Best Delegate​: WEMUN Expo 2018 (Committee – Historical UNODC), said, “WEMUN was my first international MUN, and it has been an unforgettable experience. I learnt to work with people from different cultures and develop my critical thinking and negotiating skills. Everyone in the team supported each other throughout. By the end of the conference, I felt immensely proud of my own achievement and the incredible performance of our entire delegation. I got to meet some amazing people and open my mind to new experiences.”

Comments Kaavya Mundkur of grade 9, Best Delegate: WEMUN Expo 2018 (Committee - UN4MUN), “WEMUN taught me a lot more than just the issue in the Central African Republic, the most important being that I should not presume to know how other delegates will be until I actually meet them, as each delegate is unique. My committee focused a lot on consensus and I ended up learning how to negotiate effectively despite language and other cultural barriers.”

Promoted in 2005, Inventure Academy is a Pre K - Grade 12 international school sited on Whitefield-Sarjapur Road, Bangalore. The school offers a unique curriculum which equips children with 21st Century life skills and is focused on the holistic development of children.

Facilitated by Worldview Education, a global academic simulations platform, WEMUN Expo is an internationally recognised Model United Nations platform headquartered in Beijing, China. Since 2007, it has hosted the WEMUN Expo Conference, a collaborative effort between Boston University, the University of Chicago, McGill University, Oxford University, the University of Pennsylvania, Cornell University, among others.